small_jiangsu_suningJiangsu Suning

Jiangsu Suning team

Club name: Jiangsu Suning F.C.
Chinese name: 江苏苏宁足球俱乐部苏宁易购队
Founded in: 1958
City: Nanjing
Stadium: Nanjing Olympic Sports Centre
Coach: Choi Yong-soo

Club info

The club was founded in 1958 as Jiangsu Provincial Team by the local government while the current professional football club was established in 1994. After several name changes because of changes of ownership, Suning Commerce Group took over the club in 2015. This led to a name change from Jiangsu Sainty Football Club to Jiangsu Suning.

They were one of the founding members of the first fully professional top tier league in China, however they faced relegation in that campaign. They have since gone on to win promotion back into the top tier at the end of the 2008 league season.In 2013 they won the Chinese FA Supercup and in 2015 they won the Chinese FA Cup.

In the season of 2016 the club became runner-up of the Chinese Super League with 7 points behind the Champions Guangzhou Evergrande Taobao. Their greatest victory in this season was away against Shijiazhuang Ever Bright. Jiangsu Suning won with 1-6 while Alex Teixeira scored a hattrick in this match.  

Notable foreign players in this squad are: Club topscorer Alex Teixeira and Ramires.

Jiangsu Suning stadium